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Class A Introductory Course in Driver Education 

(Class C Vehicles) 
 
 

Requirements to provide the introductory course in driver education instruction to 

applicants for a Class A driver education instructor license. A licensed Class A driver 

education instructor may be authorized by the Secretary of State to provide the 

introductory course in driver education for Class A driver education instructor license 

applicants required by Chapter 9 Rules Governing Driver Education §4, subsection 3 (A). 

A. Requirements. A person seeking authorization under subsection 8 must meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) The person must hold a bachelor’s degree, have held a valid Class A driver 

education instructor license for the preceding three years, and taught at least 

five complete driver education courses; or 

(2) The person must have held a valid Class A driver education instructor license 

for the preceding five years, and taught at least ten complete driver education 

courses; and 

(3) The person must not have violated any statute or rule governing driver 

education or any condition or restriction placed on any license issued 

pursuant to these rules for which administrative or other enforcement action 

was taken within the last five years; and 

(4) The person must complete an instructor preparation program as approved by 

the Secretary of State. 
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Course Curriculum 

 
Minimum 45 hours for each “Part” to include 5 hours behind-the-wheel instruction 

Total course= 90 hours 
 

The introductory course in driver education for Class A driver education instructor 

license applicants must be based on the approved curriculum standards; include 

components in harassment prevention; and teaching students with special needs; and 

provide a minimum of 90 hours of instruction which includes five hours of behind-the-

wheel training. The curriculum must be submitted to the Secretary of State, BMV-Driver 

Education unit, for review and approval.  

A course instructor must provide the Secretary of State, BMV-Driver Education unit, in 

writing, notification of a driver education instructor course at least 10 days prior to the 

start of the course.  

Any instructor authorized under this section must allow any interested person to enroll in 

a course to meet licensing requirements. The authorized instructor may assess a fee equal 

to the current tuition for a three credit course through the University of Southern Maine. 

Required textbooks: 

 

 Responsible Driving, How to Drive or Drive Right Textbook 

 Maine Motorist Handbook & Study Guide 

 Title 29A Maine Motor Vehicle Statutes 

 Chapter 9 Rules Governing Driver Education 

 BMV Driver Education related forms 

 
Course content: 

 

 Over view of Maine laws, rules and regulations 

 Basic driving technique 

 Creation of lesson plans 

 Peer teaching 

 Drug and alcohol awareness 

 English as a second language 

 General automobile insurance 

 Insurance for driving schools 

 Vehicle technology 

 Harassment prevention; to include sexual harassment prevention 

 In vehicle training and peer teaching (minimum of 5 hours) 

 

Teaching methodologies: 

 

 Lecture 

 Group work 

 Audio-visual 

 Speakers 

Peer teaching 

 Role playing 
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Class A Instructor Candidate Skills Report 

 
Instructor Candidate:       Date of Birth:    
 
Candidate’s School Affiliation:         
 
Class A Instructor:         Date:    
 
All sixteen mandatory subjects must be covered plus at least four optional 
subjects. 

No. Maneuver Mand./Optional Sat. Unsat. 

1 Outside Checks, Entering the Car Safely Mandatory   

2 Inside Checks (Vehicle Orientation) Mandatory   

3 Starting the Engine Mandatory   

4 Braking Mandatory   

5 Tracking in a Straight Line, Tracking on 
Turns 

Mandatory   

6 Hand-Over-Hand Steering/Push-Pull 
Steering 

Mandatory   

7 Steering from/to the Curb Mandatory   

8 Leaving the Car Safely Mandatory   

9 Changing Lanes Mandatory   

10 Right Turn Mandatory   

11 Left Turn Mandatory   

12 Tracking to the Rear Mandatory   

13 Parallel Parking Mandatory   

14 Starting on an Uphill Grade (Hill Stop) Mandatory   

15 Managing Power and Speed Mandatory   

16 Managing Visibility, Time and Space in 
Various Environments 

Mandatory   

17 Two-Point Turn, Backing Into a Driveway Optional   

18 Two-Point Turn, Heading Into a Driveway Optional   

19 U-Turn Optional   

20 Three-Point Turn Optional   

21 Angle Parking Optional   

22 Perpendicular Parking Optional   

23 Expressway Entry Optional   

24 Expressway Exit Optional   

25 Passing Optional   

26 Starting the Engine, Manual Shift Optional   

27 Putting a Car with Manual Shift in Motion Optional   

28 Shifting to a Higher Gear Optional   

29 Downshifting Optional   

30 Stopping from Low Gear Optional   

31 Emergency Downshifting Optional   

32 Parking Downgrade Optional   

33 Shared Turning Lane Optional   
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34  Rotary Optional   

35  RR Crossing Optional   

 
Comments: 


